The Natural Child Project Donate
 

 

 

 

 

Jeder Klaps ist eine Demütigung, Ein Manifest

Alice Miller

Es gibt wenige Erkenntnisse der letzten zwanzig Jahre, die so gesichert sind, wie die Erkenntnis, dass das, was wir dem kleinen Kind zufugen, im Guten wie im Schlechten, zu seinem späteren Verhaltensrepertuar gehören wird. Geschlagene Kinder lernen schlagen, gestrafte Kinder lernen strafen, belogene Kinder lernen lügen, beschützte lernen zu beschützen, respektierte lernen, Schwächere zu respektieren. Es ist bereits bewiesen, dass körperliche Strafen zwar am Anfang zum Gehorsam führen, aber später u.a. aggresives Verhalten, Lernschwierigkeiten, oder gar Drogensucht und Suicid verursachen, wenn keine aufgeklärten oder zumindest helfenden Zeugen diese Entwicklung verhindern konnten. Hitler, Stalin, Mao und andere Tyrannen hatten als Kinder keine solchen Zeugen. Sie lernten sehr früh, Grausamkeit "zu deinem besten" zu verherrlichen und haben später Millionen Menschen umgebracht. Und Millionen, die auch im Terror erzogen worden waren, halfen ihnen dabei.

Wir müssen uns daher unbedingt bemühen, ein Gesetz, das das Schlagen der Kinder eindeutig verbietet, in den grossen europaischen Landern so rasch wie möglich durchzusetzen. Es soll eine protektive und informative Funktion für die Eltern haben und nicht eine kriminalisierende. Eltern, die das Gesetz missachten sollten, könnten dazu verpflichtet werden, sich die ihnen vom Gericht ausgehändigten Informationen uber die Folgen der korperlichen Strafen anzueignen, genau wie ein Autofahrer vom Staate dazu verpflichtet ist, die Verkehrsregeln zu kennen. Wie bei der Strassenverkehrsordnung geht es beim Schlageverbot nicht ausschliesslich um das Wohl der einzelnen Kinder und einzelner Familien, sondern um die vitalsten Interessen der ganzen Gesellschaft. Daher müssen Informationen über die schädigende Wirkung der "guten Klapse" in Schwangererkursen, Säuglingsberatungen, Schulen und an möglichst vielen anderen Stellen frühzeitig vermittelt werden. Denn die unbewusste. ahnungslose Erziehung zur Gewalt beginnt sehr früh und ist oft ein Leben lang wirksam.

Die Behauptung, dass milde Strafen - Klapse - keine negative Wirkung hätten, ist noch weit verbreitet, weil wir diese Meinung sehr früh übernommen haben. Doch der Schaden zeigt sich gerade in der weiten Verbreitung dieser Behauptung, die Jahrtausende hindurch dazu geführt hat, dass jede nächste Generation ebenfalls geschlagen wurde und dies für normal, notwendig und richtig, erachtete. Sie fand es in Ordnung, dass es verboten war, Erwachsene anzugreifen, nicht aber ein hilfloses Kind. Menschen, die noch heute körperliche Strafen für Kinder propagieren, verleugnen die eigenen schmerzhaften Erfahrungen und sind sich nicht darüber im Klaren, dass sie Kinder als erlaubte Ventile benutzen. Nur ein neues Gesetz kann diesem verhängnisvollen Brauch ein Ende setzen.

Als das Gesetz über das Verbot körperlicher Strafen 1977 in Schweden lanciert wurde, waren noch 70% der befragten Burger dagegen. Beiden letzten Befragungen, 20 Jahre später, waren es nur noch 10%, die an der gewaltsamen Erziehung festhielten. Diese Statistik zeigt, dass sich innerhalb von nur 20 Jahren die Mentalität der Bevölkerung stark geändert hat. Eine destruktive Tradition, die Jahrtausende lang geehrt und praktiziert wurde, konnte mit Hilfe der neuen Gesetzgebung abgelegt werden. Warum sollte dies nicht auch anderen demokratischen Staaten gelingen?


Copyright © Alice Miller, 1997

Although this document is copyrighted and must be not shortened, added or changed, it can be used for pamphlets, leaflets or posters. It can be distributed as widely as possible, above all in schools - before young people decide to have children without knowing what this decision involves. Everybody, young and old, can participate in this action.

 

Zurück zur Alice Miller Library Home Page

Share this page:
 
 
naturalchild.org is supported by:
boba - freedom together
Green Child Magazine - Your trusted resource for raising healthy, happy families since 2010.
Attachment Parenting International - Nurturing children for a compassionate world
...and by you! advertise
  
 

Children reflect the treatment they receive.

 
Your kind support makes our work possible.   Donate

 

All site content © 1996-2014 The Natural Child Project unless otherwise stated. Terms of use

The Natural Child Project Donate
 
 

 

 

Every Smack is a Humiliation - A Manifesto

by Alice Miller

Many researchers have already proved that corporal punishment on children may indeed produce obedience in the short term but will have serious negative consequences on their character and behavior. Only if there was at least one single person who loved and understood the child, the disastrous development toward later crimes and illnesses could be prevented. During their whole childhood, dictators like Hitler, Stalin or Mao never came across such a helping witness. They learned very early to glorify cruelty and hypocrisy and to justify them while committing crimes on millions of people. Millions of others, because also exposed to physical maltreatment in childhood, helped them to do so without the slightest remorse.

Children should not be the scapegoats of adults' painful experiences. The claim that mild punishments (slaps or smacks) have no detrimental effects is still widespread because we got this message very early from our parents who had taken it over from their own parents. This conviction helped the child to minimize his suffering and to endure it. Unfortunately, the main damage it causes is precisely our numbness as well as the lack of sensitivity for our children's pain. The result of the broad dissemination of this damage is that each successive generation is subjected to the tragic effects of seemingly harmless "correction". Many parents still think: What didn't hurt me can't hurt my child. They don't realize that their conclusion is wrong because they never challenged their assumption.

When in Sweden legislation laws prohibiting corporal punishment were launched in 1978, 70% of the citizens asked for their opinion were against it. In 1997, the figure had dropped to 10%. These statistics show that the mentality of the Swedish population has radically changed in the course of a mere 20 years. A destructive tradition of millennia has been done away with thanks to this legislation.

It is imperative to launch legislation prohibiting corporal punishment all over the world. It does not set out to incriminate anyone but is designed to have a protective and informative function for parents. Sanctions could simply take the form of the obligation for parents to internalize information on the consequences of corporal punishment available today. Information on the "well-meant smack" should therefore be broadcasted to all, since unconscious education to violence takes its roots very early and inflicts disastrous imprints. The vital interests of society as a whole are at stake.


(German translation)
(French translation)

See also:
"Punishment Does Not Work"


Copyright Alice Miller, 1998

Although this document is copyrighted and must be not shortened, added or changed, it can be used for pamphlets, leaflets or posters. It can be distributed as widely as possible, above all in schools - before young people decide to have children without knowing what this decision involves. Everybody, young and old, can participate in this action.

Back to Alice Miller Library Home Page

Share this page:
 
 
naturalchild.org is supported by:
boba - freedom together
Green Child Magazine - Your trusted resource for raising healthy, happy families since 2010. Explore & Learn Dover Books - Save 25% using code WHAO. Offer ends 1/08/15
Attachment Parenting International - Nurturing children for a compassionate world
...and by you! advertise
  
 

Children reflect the treatment they receive.

 
Your kind support makes our work possible.   Donate

 

All site content © 1996-2014 The Natural Child Project unless otherwise stated. Terms of use