The Natural Child Project Donate
 
 

 

 

Chaque féssee est une humiliation

Par Alice Miller, Ph.D.

De nombreuses recherches ont démontré que si les châtiments corporels permettent de faire obéir un enfant dans l'immédiat, ils entrainent ultérieurement de graves troubles du caractère et du comportement si cet enfant ne trouve pas, dans son entourage, une personne informée et compatissante pour lui venir en aide. Hitler, Staline, Mao et d'autres tyrans n'ont pas rencontré, quand ils étaient petits, de tels témoins lucides. De ce fait, ils ont appris très tôt à glorifier la cruauté devenus adultes, à justifier les massacres qu'ils organisaient. Des millions de gens, eux aussi elevés dans la violence, leur ont prêté la main.

Il faut cesser de se servir des enfants comme d'un exutoire, permettant de se défouler légalement des affects accumulés. On croit encore souvent que de "légères" humiliations, du type claques ou fessees seraient inoffensives. Car, tout comme pour nos parents, cette idée nous a été inculquée très tôt dans notre enfance. Elle aidait l'enfant battu à minimiser sa souffrance, et par là, a la supporter. Mais sa nocivité se révéle précisément par cette large acceptation: puisque cela était supposé "ne pas faire de mal", à chaque génération des enfants ont subi ces humiliants traitements, et, de plus, ont jugé juste et normal de recevoir des coups.

Quand en 1977, la loi sur l'interdiction des châtiments corporels a été promulguée en Suède, 70% des citizens interrogés lors d'un sondage y étaient opposés. En 1997, ils n'étaient plus que 10%. Ces chiffres montrent qu'en vingt ans les mentalités se sont transformées. Grâce à la nouvelle législation, une coutume destructrice a pu être abandonnée.

Il est prévu d'étendre à toute l"Europe la législation interdisant les châtiments corporels . Ils ne s'agit nullement de trainer les parents sur le banc des accusés. Cette loi dit au contraire avoir pour eux une fonction protectrice et informative. Les parents qui l'enfreignent devraient être astreints par le tribunal à dissiper leur ignorance sur les conséquences des châtiments corporels, à apprendre quels dégâts ils provoquent. Les informations sur l'effet nocif de l' "inoffensive fessée" devrait être diffusée de manière à être connus de tous, car l'éducation inconsciente à la violence commence très tôt, et beaucoup d'êtres humains en resteront marqués pour la vie. Ce qui est en jeu, c'est l'avenir de la société tout entière.


Ce texte est libre de droits: à condition qu'il ne soit pas modifié, il peut être utilisé par chacun qui désire le distribuer dans son entourage afin que le plus grand nombre de jeunes parents soient informés, dans l'intérêt des enfants de l'avenir.

Retourner à la page d'Alice Miller sur la route électronique

 
 
naturalchild.org is supported by:
boba - freedom together
Attachment Parenting International - Nurturing children for a compassionate world
The Natural Child Project Shop Counseling with Jan Hunt
...and by you! advertise
  
 

Children reflect the treatment they receive.

 
Your kind support makes our work possible.   Donate

 

All site content © 1996-2014 The Natural Child Project unless otherwise stated. Terms of use

The Natural Child Project Donate
 
 

 

 

Every Smack is a Humiliation - A Manifesto

by Alice Miller

Many researchers have already proved that corporal punishment on children may indeed produce obedience in the short term but will have serious negative consequences on their character and behavior. Only if there was at least one single person who loved and understood the child, the disastrous development toward later crimes and illnesses could be prevented. During their whole childhood, dictators like Hitler, Stalin or Mao never came across such a helping witness. They learned very early to glorify cruelty and hypocrisy and to justify them while committing crimes on millions of people. Millions of others, because also exposed to physical maltreatment in childhood, helped them to do so without the slightest remorse.

Children should not be the scapegoats of adults' painful experiences. The claim that mild punishments (slaps or smacks) have no detrimental effects is still widespread because we got this message very early from our parents who had taken it over from their own parents. This conviction helped the child to minimize his suffering and to endure it. Unfortunately, the main damage it causes is precisely our numbness as well as the lack of sensitivity for our children's pain. The result of the broad dissemination of this damage is that each successive generation is subjected to the tragic effects of seemingly harmless "correction". Many parents still think: What didn't hurt me can't hurt my child. They don't realize that their conclusion is wrong because they never challenged their assumption.

When in Sweden legislation laws prohibiting corporal punishment were launched in 1978, 70% of the citizens asked for their opinion were against it. In 1997, the figure had dropped to 10%. These statistics show that the mentality of the Swedish population has radically changed in the course of a mere 20 years. A destructive tradition of millennia has been done away with thanks to this legislation.

It is imperative to launch legislation prohibiting corporal punishment all over the world. It does not set out to incriminate anyone but is designed to have a protective and informative function for parents. Sanctions could simply take the form of the obligation for parents to internalize information on the consequences of corporal punishment available today. Information on the "well-meant smack" should therefore be broadcasted to all, since unconscious education to violence takes its roots very early and inflicts disastrous imprints. The vital interests of society as a whole are at stake.


(German translation)
(French translation)

See also:
"Punishment Does Not Work"


Copyright Alice Miller, 1998

Although this document is copyrighted and must be not shortened, added or changed, it can be used for pamphlets, leaflets or posters. It can be distributed as widely as possible, above all in schools - before young people decide to have children without knowing what this decision involves. Everybody, young and old, can participate in this action.

Back to Alice Miller Library Home Page

Share this page:
 
 
naturalchild.org is supported by:
boba - freedom together
Green Child Magazine - Your trusted resource for raising healthy, happy families since 2010. Explore & Learn Dover Books - Save 25% using code WHAO. Offer ends 1/08/15
Attachment Parenting International - Nurturing children for a compassionate world
...and by you! advertise
  
 

Children reflect the treatment they receive.

 
Your kind support makes our work possible.   Donate

 

All site content © 1996-2014 The Natural Child Project unless otherwise stated. Terms of use